2013 so far

Gosh, sorry I disappeared for a few weeks. We got busy and the girls were out of school with the holidays. I just feel like I’m getting things back to normal.

It’s been such a change to be able to spend Christmas with our families again. It’s been so busy compared to what the last several years have been. But a good kind of busy. I haven’t let it stress me because I’m so appreciative of having this time with everyone. I have made sure to just stop and take it in. We traveled to my late grandmother’s house to have the big extended family Christmas on my mom’s side. And at one point I was rocking with Hadley while she was sleeping on me, Cady was outside running around with her cousins just like I did at that age, and all the adults/older kids were doing a White Elephant gift exchange. It was just really nice to have almost everyone in the one place. It really meant a lot to me.

We did quite a bit of traveling between different houses and the girls played hard at all the different places. This meant that there were a lot of car naps. I love watching Hadley sleep because she always ends up pouting.

We spent a very low key NYE at home with the girls. I’m just not big on going out on NYE. It’s a bit overrated in my opinion.

What is NOT overrated, Banana Boats.

I, being on Pinterest, have seen this idea all over the place. I’m not big on chocolate and bananas together, so I’d never thought to try it. But Jason and I were watching The Pioneer Woman show on Food Network and she made them. Jason’s mind was blown, so I went to get the stuff to make them as a fun NYE treat for the girls. They were pretty good, I have to admit. The girls approved (and so did Jason)

If you don’t know about Banana Boats, get yourself to Pinterest or Google.

Since the girls have been out of school, their routines got all out of whack. I enjoyed the getting up and not having any plans, but I didn’t so much enjoy their attitudes by the end of it. My kids thrive on routine and Cady definitely needs the social outlet. Her fits/tnatrums/plain old attitude wasn’t cute. Hadley’s….. kind of is. I don’t let her know that, of course. But she is a bit of a drama queen, but she is also a sensitive little soul and takes it hard when someone gets on to her. This was actually caused by me simply telling her no, not even sternly.

I may really be in for with that one, but it’s all worth it because they are pretty much the cutest things around. Especially when they are being sweet with each other.

With Christmas comes WAY too many gifts from their grandparents and the rest of the family. To say the play room had been a disaster would be a complete understatement. So when we got back in the swing of school routine, I took a day to clean it up and re-organize everything.

I threw a bunch of stuff out. I still feel like they have way more than they could every play with in a lifetime. They have done a surprisingly good job at keeping it pretty clean and picked up. I’m proud. I’m still always on the lookout to make things just a little easier/neater up there though. It’s never ending.

This past weekend it finally warmed up a tiny bit and it wasn’t raining, so we were able to let Cady out on her new bike. We live at the top of a large hill. She wasn’t ready to just let her go, so Jason was supposed to be helping her down the hill while I helped Hadley on her trike. Well… Jason thought she was ready for a bit more than me and he let her go (he was right next to her). She panicked, lost control, jumped a curb and fell off. She was fine, just shaken up.

I convinced her to try again after she calmed down a bit. I knew if I didn’t get her back on right then that we probably could have given the bike away and she wouldn’t put up a fight. Her only stipulation was that I help her down the hill instead of Jason. Fine. We switched kids and tried again. I looked over just in time to see Hadley falling off her trike! He was just dumping them off left and right 😉 But really he felt bad. Thank goodness for helmets though.

They ended up having a great time. Cady is still a little hesitant, but she is doing great.

Hadley is just the the tiniest bit shy of being able to reach enough to pedal, but she looks the part. That’s the most important.

Tuesday, Cady and I had a Mommy/Daughter Date Day. We got a free pass to Monster’s Inc, so we went to a big theater in Little Rock to see it in 3D.

We had some lunch at PF Chang’s

And then Cady promptly passed out on the way home.

Sign of a good day!

That’s what has been going on with the girls. For me, 2013 is bringing some big changes. I’m doing something I said I would NEVER do. I have signed up with the direct sales company, Origami Owl!

I am so excited about this opportunity. I’ve been waiting for about 4 months for this to happen. I think their products are so awesome and so customizable that anyone will love them! But I promise I’m not going to try to sell a bunch of stuff here. This will remain about Cady and Hadley. If you are interested in learning more you can follow me on my business FB page. You can also check out the product and order it from my sales page. So never say never because things have a way of surprising you.

2013 is starting off wonderfully. I’m looking forward to everything coming our way this year!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

