SUYL – Tailgating edition

This past week on Kelly’s Korner “Show Us Your Life” series was tailgating recipes. As everyone knows, we are a football lovin’ family and now that we are back in Central Arkansas, we are taking full advantage of being able to attend the home games for UCA. We have been loving tailgating before the games with our friends. Even on ridiculously cold and wet Saturdays like this past one.

One of the best parts of tailgating is the food! (isn’t that one of the best parts of anything?) I’ve been making some old favorites and I found a few new recipes to add to the mix.

My old standby that I make for EVERYTHING are Sausage Cream Cheese Crescents. I’ve been making these for years.  I don’t know where I came across the recipe, but everyone always loves them. And they are beyond simple. We started out calling them Dirty Diapers, but that’s just really gross. So I got a little less original with the name.

Sausage Cream Cheese Crescents

1 pkg breakfast sausage (I prefer to use spicy)

8 oz cream cheese

1 pkg refrigerated crescent rolls.

First, you brown and drain your sausage. Mix that with softened cream cheese. Spoon the sausage mixture into the crescents and fold them up (this is the hardest part, really) They don’t have to look pretty. Mine rarely do. Then just follow the baking directions on the crescent roll package.

How simple is that?!!?!?
My other go to is also something I’ve been making for almost a decade. When I was an RA in college, one of my projects was a holiday cookbook with favorite recipes submitted by residents and staff members. The Dean of students at the time submitted her tortilla roll up recipe. Once again, it is crazy simple, but people always seem to love it.

Tortilla Roll Ups

8 oz cream cheese

4 oz diced green chilies, drained

4 oz sliced black olives, drained

1.5 cups sharp cheddar cheese

garlic powder and seasoning salt to taste

10 inch flour tortillas.

First, mix all ingredients other than tortillas together. Spread the cream cheese mix over a tortilla. Roll up the tortilla and wrap in saran wrap. I like to then refrigerate them overnight. Before you serve, slice into 1 inch slices. You can serve on their own or with salsa.

Pinterest has also been a wealthy of great tailgating ideas. I’ve recently tried two new recipes I found there.

First, is a simple variation of the Tortilla Roll Ups: Chicken Enchilada Roll Ups. These are delicious and easy. They were also met with raves.

I tried a new one this weekend that I’ve been seeing all over Pinterest: Rotel Cups. This was another really simple recipe. I did make one mistake though. I made them the night before. They were stellar on Friday night. But the phyllo cups got a bit soggy after sitting overnight. So these may be ones to make day of.

Now that the weather is cooling off, we are trying to come up with good ways to have warm food available at our tailgate, so I’m definitely going to be getting some ideas from the other contributors to this SUYL week.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

