It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

I would love to be one of those people who has her Christmas decorations up the day after Thanksgiving, but I’m not. One thing is that I have been out of state the day after Thanksgiving for 3 of the past 4 years. Last year, while I was home, I had a 1 week old. But even without those excuses, I still don’t think I would be that person. Oh well.

This weekend, we got the majority of our Christmas decorating done. I really love decorating for Christmas. I do not go all out by any means. A tree, some decor on the mantle, and then what we put up outside is about as far as I go. But I still love it.

If I could leave my tree up year round, I think I would. There is just something kind of peaceful about it. I love being up before the girls and leaving all the lights off except for the tree and sitting and drinking my coffee and just being quiet. One of my favorite parts of the season.

As always the girls got their new ornaments. I know most remember the cell phone from last year. I hoped to not have a repeat this year (and yes, the cell phone has a place of honor toward the back of my tree.) We went to Hobby Lobby in hopes there would be a wider selection with less… undesirable ornaments LOL! And Cady made me proud this year. She found a little snow globe ornament with a snowman inside. It’s cute.

So I got Hadley a smaller version with a penguin inside. Two ornaments I won’t banish to the back of the tree in years to come.

I hung the stockings and put up my Santa canvas. Our Elf, W.O.C. (don’t ask) is here too. Though, I’m afraid his charm may have worn off this year.

Another favorite part of Christmas, for me, is receiving Christmas cards. I just love them. First, it is so rare to receive actual mail anymore that isn’t junk. And no matter what, it is always a thrill to open the mailbox and find an envelope from a friend or family member. I love seeing the pictures of all our friends and family and I love displaying them. I used to just tape them up to the door leading to the laundry room since it is a prime location in our living room. But thanks to Pinterest, I had a better idea this year. I made a wreath out of clothes pins to hold the cards for display. I’m really happy with it, and I think it is the perfect way to showcase all the beautiful cards from our loved ones.

And on the subject of Pinterest, I found an adorable Christmas shirt idea several months ago that I just knew I had to do. Thankfully, the Halloween shirts turned out well, so my confidence was up and I knew I could tackle this project.

I am so thrilled with the final product! And here is one of my little elves modeling. My other elf was not so cooperative.

I can’t wait to experience the rest of Christmas with my two little loves. It has been so much fun so far and I know it is going to get even better.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Cadence, Hadley

One response to “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

  1. We don’t have our tree up yet. We will later this week. But if I didn’t have a toddler, I’d be perfectly content to leave it up all year. I love Christmas. So much!

Leave a Reply

