Cady’s Room

Since we gave an update on a nursery, I thought I should show you all the work Jason has been putting into Cady’s room.

Every piece of furniture in this room, with exception of the bed, was made by Jason. I think it is awesome that Cady can have such special pieces in her room. We know each was made with love.

It is crazy to me that this room looks more like a little girl lives there than a baby.

This is what you see when looking in the door

Her bed. I would like to redo the poof balls above it but I also have some ideas for something similar to replace them too. The nightstand next to her bed was made by Jason. It was his first furniture building project.

Her newest addition: Dollhouse bookcase. This turned out like a dream. It is so perfect. Her books have been spread between her toy room and shelves in the nursery. But now they are all in one place and all accessible to her. She has just been sitting there for a while going through all of her books

Her bookcase and dresser

Her dresser. I’ve updated some of her pictures and she loves feeding daddy’s change to her piggy when he comes home from work every day

And her closet and hampers

I just love her room. It’s the perfect room for a little girl. It is sweet and soft and one of my favorite rooms in our whole house

We also added a little place to display her artwork in her playroom. I’ve seen this done on a couple of blogs. I saw it in person at my friend Tiffany’s house. She and her husband did something similar for their daughter Kate and I just fell in love with the idea.

We found a tutorial that used some curtain hardware from Ikea. And as much I as I liked it, I just wasn’t going to drag myself all the way to Ikea for some wire and clips. So we went to Lowe’s with the idea of what we wanted to do in our head and just looked for something that would work.

We ended up with some eyes, wire, and made a quick stop by Office Max for some binder clips. For right around $5 Cady has an awesome art gallery.

I think it fits the feel of the room perfectly.

She has some stuff up from Summer MDO and our crafts at the library storytime

Now I’m afraid we are going to have to end up doing this to every wall in our house. I know we will run out of room on this quickly, and I just can’t bring myself to throw any of her masterpieces away.

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Cady’s Room

  1. I showed Cady’s bedroom to my 5 year old grand daughter and she said…. “Mimi, whos SWEET bedroom is that?” Uhh.. now she wants the book case (she is a book worm).

    Excellent work. 🙂

  2. It all looks great…….love the book shelf! I love the art gallery too. Cute idea!

  3. RJ

    I have a large boot shoe box that I hold all of my daughter’s work. A few I have framed with goodwill or garage sale frames that I’ve painted to match her room. But if I were you I would just rotate her artwork and the already-hung-for-a-week-artwork would go into that boot shoe box and replaced with newer artwork. The room looks great! I have a 3 year old so I’m looking at a lot of ideas! Great stuff here!

  4. Her room is so cute! I love the bookshelf!

  5. I love that she is in the pictures reading! So cute 🙂

  6. Ok, I just had to comment as my name is Cadence, too! It’s not a very common name. 🙂 I love her room, especially that dollhouse bookcase. I’m going to have to get one of those for my daughter when she gets a little older!

  7. amy

    I just hung a giant corkboard in my son’s room because the artwork was piling up 🙂 The wire idea is so much cuter though…I’ll have to get my bum in gear and make some!

  8. This is the second room already with the dollhouse bookshelf and I totally love it. I’m going to have to get one for my girls when they are in their big girl room one day 🙂

  9. Love her little bookshelf 🙂 Adorable room!

  10. LOVE the dollhouse bookcase … so adorable!

  11. I got here through Kelly’s Korner and I was so happy to see someone else who had named their little one Cadence! We also call her Cady!! Love it! She is too sweet!

  12. Aw, what a precious room! We have a Cadence, too. We call her Cadi. She is not little like thins anymore, though. {sob} She turned 5 in September. What a sweet blog you have!
    ~Tiffany

  13. Very cute! I love her doll house!

  14. This is adorable!!! The doll house is my favorite 🙂

  15. Oh, I just heart this room! My DD’s nickname I have for her is cupcake…..definitely going to have to find me that cupcake comforter when I redo her room. I also love the CADENCE on the wall here! Beautiful!

  16. LOVE the art gallery wall!

    I don’t have any children yet, but I plan to do this in the future!

    There was a magazine or blog or book or SOMEthing that I read one time that gave lots of ideas of things to do with your children’s art work… because none of us like to throw any of it away.

    One was the art gallery wall, framing some of and switching it in seasons, putting it in a scrapbook to keep for years, and then sending some to grammy’s house so that you don’t feel so guilty throwing it away!

    Just thought i’d share since you said you just hate to get rid of any of it!

    🙂 cute rooms!

  17. Pingback: Top 10 posts in 2011 | Cady Cupcake

Leave a Reply

