Decorating the Christmas Tree

I have been looking forward to this Holiday season SOOOOOOO much. I have been planning every tradition I want to start with Cady. This Christmas season started out a little rough for us, and it was really hard for me to get in the Christmas spirit. I actually debated about decorating for Christmas, and I didn’t do everything that we normally do. But I knew I would regret it if I didn’t. It was our first Christmas at our house with Cady and I wanted to make sure that I made it special for her.

One of my favorite things is decorating the tree. I’ve always dreamed about decorating it with my little girl. I think Jason realized how hard it was for me to get in the spirit of things, so I came home after running some errands with a friend one weekend to the tree put together (we do a fakey).

While Cady was napping I put our few glass ornaments on the top half of the tree. When she woke up, she and I decorated the bottom half with our plastic and shatterproof ornaments.

Last year she didn’t even pay attention to the tree, but she loved it this year.

She loved it so much that the next day she just sat next to it for a long time. She pointed out every ball on the tree (we pretty much only have balls) and she touched every present.

She did really good with it though. She really obeyed the whole look and not touch thing. Plus, I think its been so long since her birthday that she kind of forgot what presents were all about because she didn’t mess with those at all.

Here is the finished product.

Plus a picture of my “mantle” and the stockings

Also, another tradition I started (even before Cady was born) is buying her an ornament every year. My hope is to find an ornament that means symbolizes something from that year. When she is grown up and moved out and has her own tree to decorate, she will be able to take those ornaments with her and use them on her tree. This is her 2009 ornament.A cupcake, what else?

2 Comments

Filed under Cadence

2 responses to “Decorating the Christmas Tree

  1. Pingback: 2 Months | Cady Cupcake

  2. Pingback: 14 Months | Cady Cupcake

Leave a Reply

